Wandering the dark paths

I have always avoided blogs as I figured nobody would be remotely interested in the minutia of my mundane existence. I find myself boring, so apologies if I also bore you!

And while that remains true, some people I come across, both online and in the real world, do express an interest in the images I take, and what gear I use.

So here we are. This blog will be a showcase for my photography, as well as hopefully initiate some discussion about photography and equipment as I have experienced it.  I don’t have the available disposable income to accumulate expensive gear, but I do try and buy the best I can for my very limited budget.

Some things I have learnt during my foray into photography over the last 6 years

  1. Older gear doesn’t stop taking great photos just because a newer and ‘better’ camera has appeared. Which is good, because my cameras and lenses range in age from 5 years old to over 30 years old. You’ll hopefully meet some of them as we go. I use Nikon and Olympus cameras, with lenses by Nikon, Olympus, Minolta, Sigma, and Konica.
  2. You don’t need to go somewhere exotic to get great landscape photos. Explore the uniqueness of where you live. There are opportunities everywhere.
  3. It is all about the light. Lighting can makes or break an image, no matter how good your composition or your equipment is.

 

As an introduction to my photography, one of my more recent projects is called “Dark Paths and Silver Light”. ….

The Ross River wanders through Townsville rather inconspicuously. Some drive over the bridges with barely a sideways glance. Others appreciate the great network of bike/walking paths that follow the river for much of its journey through town.

Over the years I have made several embarrassingly futile efforts to lose weight by running and walking around the river of a morning. In that time, like many others, I have come to enjoy the understated beauty of our river – often reflecting fiery red or pastel pink sunrises and sunsets, or the bright blues of a midday winter sky.

So I started taking a camera with me. My little Olympus EPL1 was perfect for running with. The 9-18mm lens was light & compact, as was my Joby gorillapod I carried in lieu of a real tripod. I did get some great colour shots, but started to convert some to black & white as well when composition & features seemed to suggest it may work better.

I’ve been a fan of IR photography for a while. The spooky work of Simon Marsden is fantastic. So when I finally shelled out some coin for a small IR converted Olympus EPM1, I started on cemeteries. I still love cemeteries , but out of curiosity, I also started to drag the IR camera along the river to capture landscapes. I found it is a wonderful tool for capturing the shapes and textures of the riverside paths and trees.

Why Infrared, you may ask? IR provides a unique view of the world. The tones available are noticeably different to a “normal” camera. Green leaves turn out a snowy white. Blue skies turn black. Textures seem to be clearer and more defined.

Paths and tracks offer an easy composition solution for a photographer. Leading lines almost always work. The challenge here is to capture as many different variations on the theme as possible.

Anyway, enough of my ramblings. Here’s a few samples from this project.

There are more in the Dark Paths and Silver Light gallery in my portfolio. I hope you enjoy.

Dark Paths and Silver Light

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

